Wednesday, April 13, 2011

images








Pattern Stamp Tool

How to Use the Photoshop Pattern Stamp Tool

The Photoshop Pattern Stamp Tool is just like brushes on your Brushes palette. Instead of using the brushes, the Pattern Stamp Tool lets you select a "pattern" on your Pattern palette and then paint with it.

Patterns on the Pattern palette for the Pattern Stamp Tool can be custom made or installed as add-ons from external source.

This Photoshop tutorial will show you how to use the Pattern Stamp tool with preselect patterns on the Patterns palette.

Instructions

1
Start with either a new file (canvas) or load an image in your Photoshop.



2
 Stamp Tools on the tool box

Find on your tool box the "Stamps Tool". Click and don't release your left-mouse key on that, a menu will come up with two stamp choices.



3
 Pattern Stamp

Drag your cursor with the left-mouse key down and place it on top the second item in the "Stamps Tool" selection. That second item is the "Pattern Stamp".
Release left mouse key to activate.



4
Choose a brush on your Brushes palette. If your Brushes palette is not showing, go to Window > Show Brushes.



5
 Brush settings (center on Photoshop window)

Set your brush size and hardness or use it as is.
To set your brush size and hardness: right-click on your Brushes palette the brush you picked, choose Brush Options on the drop-down list. A dialog box will pop-up, adjust your settings to your liking there.
Click OK to complete process.



6
Right-click mouse to bring up a list of brush options, and see if you need any of those to change the property of your brush. Left-click to select an item, if needed.



7
 Find Pattern palette under Edit on the main menu

Choose a pattern from the Pattern pop-up palette in the options bar. Now you can paint with your Pattern Stamp after choosing a pattern for it. To access the Pattern palette: Edit > Preset Manager > Define Pattern.



8
 Pattern palette

Change the Pattern Stamp Tool property any time during your work. Just repeat Steps 4 to 6 to fit your situation.



9
 Painting with feather shape Pattern Stamps

The properties of your preset brush defines the final patterns presented by using your Pattern Stamp Tool.
Work example created with various Pattern Stamps using feather patterns instead of normal brushes in Photoshop.



Read more: How to Use the Photoshop Pattern Stamp Tool | eHow.com http://www.ehow.com/how_5083991_use-photoshop-pattern-stamp-tool.html#ixzz1JQ6VNLth

How to Create a Pattern Stamp

How to Create a Pattern Stamp

Pattern stamps in Photoshop are limited only by your imagination. Photoshop gives you the power to create unlimited pattern stamps and save those stamps as presets for future use. You can build your own private library of pattern stamps with only a few starter images.

Instructions

1
 Rectangle Marquee Tool

Open up any photograph in Photoshop CS3. Click on the Rectangle Marquee tool and use it to select the portion of your photograph that you want to use for your custom pattern stamp. Make sure to leave the "Feather:" setting at 0 px.



2
 Choose "Edit" from the toolbar

After selecting the portion of your photograph you want to use for your custom pattern stamp, click on the "Edit" then "Define Pattern" menu options at the top of your Photoshop workspace. Enter a name for your custom pattern in the box that pops open, and you now have a custom pattern stamp saved for future use in any of your projects.



3
You can create as many custom pattern stamps from one image as you want--just pick areas of the image that are different enough to make each of your stamps unique. For example, you may wish to make patterns from both light and dark areas of your photographs, as well as areas that contain lots of texture and colors versus those with a solid color.



Wednesday, April 6, 2011

layer mask lesson

(After right-clicking the image from the blog and saving it to your desktop)

1. Open Photoshop (From your Start Menu > Programs > Adobe CS2)

2. Open your image by going to the File menu and selecting Open.

3. Choose File and click Open

4. Make sure the Layers Palette is visible, if not go to Window > Layers

5. Copy your background using the keyboard shortcut CNTRL + J (Command J)

Levels

6. With the Background Copy Highlighted, Click on the Cookie and choose Levels.

7. Drag the midtones triangle to 0.75 and Click OK.

8. With the Levels Layer highlighted Click CNTRL + E (Command E) to merge down.

Masks

9. With the top layer selected click on the Add Layer Masks button.

10. You should see a white thumbnail for the Layer Mask. Use a black paintbrush to mask the parts of the layer that you want to remove.

Practicing Masks

Practicing Masks:

1. Create a new blank document in Photoshop by going to the File menu and selecting New. Set the dimensions (8 x 10 inches at 300 dpi).

2. Click on the make new layer button.

3. Fill the layer with a pattern by going to the Edit > Fill menu and selecting Pattern in the drop down menu under Contents.

4. Click on the make new layer button.

5. Fill the layer with a pattern by going to the Edit > Fill menu and selecting Color in the drop down menu under Contents.

6. With the top layer selected, click on the Add Layer Mask button.

7. A white layer mask thumbnail should be visible in the top layer. Using a black paintbrush, paint on the top layer to erase parts of the layer and reveal the layer underneath.

When you are finished, the areas that you have masked will be hidden from view. 


Layer Masks

Using Layer Masks

Photoshop CS2 allows you to mask selected areas of a layer. Masking gives you the ability to hide, edit, and protect, selected areas of an image. Further, masking allows you to blend, merge, and add fade attributes to multiple images within the same document. This document will define the two types of layer masks available in Photoshop CS2, it will detail the necessary steps to add a mask to a selected area of a layer, and it will explain how to hide and reveal portions of a layer within another layer.

Masks

In Photoshop CS2 there are two types of mask available, the layer mask and the vector mask. Both of these masks are grayscale images; meaning, you should cover a selected area in black that you would wish to hide and anything you would want to be partially visible you would paint using various shades of gray. The lighter the gray the more transparent the selected area is, white is fully visible. Once you hide part of an image using a mask, you can modify or fully restore it at any time since the mask is just covering up, and has not deleted, that part of the image. This is one of the distinct advantages of masking.

Layer Masks

Layer masks are the most common type of mask used. Layer masks are created by using the Painting Tools, primarily the Brush Tool. The layer masking method will cover a large area of an image quickly. While this method may save time, your masked area is more likely to be imprecise and have uneven edges that are not present with the vector masking method.

Vector Masks

Vector masks will give you a much cleaner and defined looking image than a layer mask will. Vector masks are created by using the Pen, Shape, or Path Selection Tool. While the edges of the mask are more precise, it takes a little more time and precision to create this mask than is necessary with a layer mask.

Creating a Mask

These steps will explain how to add a mask to your image in your Photoshop CS2 document. 
NOTE: Layer masks and vector masks can be applied to the same layer.

Instructions:

Open or create your image(s) in Photoshop CS2

Place the image(s) you wish to add masking properties to in their respective layers 
NOTE: Name each individual layer with a meaningful name. This will allow you to identify the contents of the layer quicker. For more information on naming layers see Renaming Layers.

Select the layer which you wish to apply a mask to

From the bottom of the Layers Palette, click ADD LAYER MASK
A white thumbnail will appear in the Layers palette on your selected layer. This thumbnail will display the masking properties you add to this layer.

From the Toolbox, click the PAINT BRUSH TOOL, if you would like a layer mask 
OR 
Click the PEN, PATH SELECTION, or SHAPE TOOL, if you would like a vector mask.
NOTE: Layers masks consist of only white and black. Therefore, you can only apply the colors white and black to a layer mask with the tools referred to here. To hide areas of a layer you will want to apply black. If later you wish to reveal an area that you have masked, apply white.

Use your desired tool to designate the areas on the image you would like to hide or mask.


When you are finished, the areas that you have masked will be hidden from view. 


Hiding and Revealing Selections

You can use a layer mask to hide or reveal a selected area.

Hiding a Selection

Hiding a selection applies a mask over the selected area; the selection is not visible. The portion of the layer directly beneath the masked layer which corresponds to the selection is now visible. In the Layers palette, the layer which has a hidden selection will display a white thumbnail with the selected area in black. The example below shows a hidden selection along with the Layers palette.

Revealing a Selection

Revealing a selection applies a mask to the area surrounding the selected area; only the selection is visible. The portion of the layer directly beneath the masked layer which corresponds to the area outside of the selection is now visible. In the Layers palette, the layer which has a revealed selection will display a black thumbnail with the selected area in white. The example below shows a selection revealed along with the Layers palette.

To hide or reveal a selection:

Select the layer which you wish to apply a mask to 
NOTE: Any layers above the layer you have selected in the Layers palette will not be effected by the mask.

Using a selection tool, select the portion of the image you wish to hide or reveal


From the Layer menu select » Layer Mask » Hide Selection or Reveal Selection

http://www.uwec.edu/help/PhotoshopCS2/masking.htm


how to make masks in photoshop elements

http://graphicssoft.about.com/od/pselements/qt/layermasks.htm

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

images for combining with clone stamp


clone stamp to combine images



1. Open Photoshop

2. Open your image by going to the File menu and selecting Open.

3. Choose File and click Open

(repeat steps 2 and 3 to open the additional file)

4. Make sure the Layers Palette is visible, if not go to Window - > Layers


(The image of people dancing will be your background layer. Make sure you size the images so that they are side by side and you can see both at the same time.

You will be using the Clone Stamp Tool to add parts from the other image to the background layer).


Create an empty layer above your background:

5. In the bottom of the layers palette click the square to "Create New Layer"

You should see a new empty layer above your background layer that is called "Layer 1"


Use the Clone Stamp Tool to add from the other image:

6. Select the Clone Stamp Tool from the Tool Palette (the stamp, keyboard shortcut is the letter S)

7. Choose the settings for the Stamp at the top

(size of brush = 200, hardness = 0%, opacity = 100%, flow = 100%)

8. Click on the second image (drinks & candles).

9. Hold down the ALT key (you will see the target appear while you hold down ALT)

10. Click on the candle. This is the area you would like to sample (you will be adding that area to the background image). You can let go after clicking once on the area.

11. Click on the background image. Make sure you are on Layer 1.

12. Click and hold down while you move the mouse to paint the candle onto Layer 1.

(you are using the clone stamp to sample from one image and paint on to the other image).



Use the Clone Stamp Tool again to add from another part of the other image:

13. Click on the second image (drinks & candles).

14. Hold down the ALT key (you will see the target appear while you hold down ALT)

15. Click on the beer bottle. This is the area you would like to sample (you will be adding that area to the background image). You can let go after clicking once on the area.

11. Click on the background image. Make sure you are on Layer 1.

12. Click and hold down while you move the mouse to paint the beer bottle onto the background image.

(again you are using the clone stamp to sample from one image and paint on to the other image).


You can continue to use the clone stamp to sample from the second image, adding onto layer 1 over the background image.


Use the eraser tool to clean-up some of the edges on Layer 1.


You can also adjust the Opactiy of layer 1 (select the top layer and then drag the opacity slider to the left.)


Use Marquee Tool + Free Transform (CNTRL + T or Command + T) to adjust the size of the new images on Layer 1. Click and drag the corners out to change the size. Hit the ENTER/RETURN key to apply the transformation.


You can use the Marquee Tool & the Move (it looks like an arrow and the shortcut is the letter V) to change the placement of the selections





Save the image:

Save your image by going to the File menu and Save As (Choose JPEG for finished images and PSD for unfinished images). For JPEG save the image at the highest size (Size 12).


***REMEMBER YOU CAN ALWAYS GO BACKWARDS ONE STEP WITH THE KEYBOARD SHORCUT CONTROL + Z or COMMAND + Z***


images for clone stamping





March 30: Clone Stamp

Clone Stamp

1. The clone stamp tool is located on your Photoshop toolbar.

If you do not see the toolbar (a vertical set of icons), go to window>tools to bring it up. Click the clone tool to select it.

The keyboard shortcut is (S)

2. Once on the Photoshop clone stamp tool, you can set your brush options (located at the top of the screen). Brush size and shape, opacity, flow and blending modes can all be selected. If you want to copy an exact area you will leave the opacity, flow and blending mode at their default settings and only choose a brush size and shape.

3. To select the area you want to copy from, move your mouse to the area you want to duplicate and Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac). The cursor will change to a target. Click the exact spot you want to start copying from.

4. Click and drag over the area you want to replace or correct and you will see the area you selected in step 3 start to "cover" your photo. Play around with different brush settings and try replacing different areas of your photo until you get the hang of it.

Sunday, March 20, 2011

image for march 23 lesson

Paint Brush, Paint Bucket, Eye Dropper, Default colors Move, Blur, Sharpen, Smudge, Merge Down, Merge Visible, Flatten Image, Filters

Paint Brush, Paint Bucket, Eye Dropper, Default colors

Move, Blur, Sharpen, Smudge, Merge Down, Merge Visible, Flatten Image, Filters

(After right-clicking the image from the blog and saving it to your desktop)

1. Open Photoshop (From your Start Menu > Programs > Adobe CS2)

2. Open your image by going to the File menu and selecting Open.

3. Choose File and click Open

4. Make sure the Layers Palette is visible, if not go to Window > Layers

5. Copy your background using the keyboard shortcut CNTRL + J (Command J)

Levels

6. With the Background Copy Highlighted, Click on the Cookie and choose Levels.

7. Drag the midtones triangle to 0.75 and Click OK.

8. With the Levels Layer highlighted Click CNTRL + E (Command E) to merge down.

Paint Bucket Tool

9. Click on the Paint Bucket Tool (keyboard shortcut is G).

10. Set the Mode to Clear. Set the Opacity to 90% and the Tolerance to 20. Uncheck “All Layers”.

11. Click on the shadow area next to the car, on the left side.

12. Click on other dark areas like the trees.

Eye Dropper

13. Click on the Eye Dropper Tool (keyboard shortcut is I). Click on the shadow areas of the porch railing to select a light gray color.

Paint Bucket Tool

14. Click on the Paint Bucket Tool (keyboard shortcut is G).

15. Set the Mode to Darken. Set the Opacity to 45% and the Tolerance to 20. Uncheck “All Layers”.

16. Click on the highlight area on the porch railing to bring down the highlights.

Magic Wand

17. Click on the Background Copy and Click on the Magic Wand (keyboard

shortcut is W).

18. Set the Magic Wand Tolerance to 20. Click on the highlight areas on the shirts and on the side of the house.

19. With the Background Copy Highlighted, Click on the Cookie and choose Brightness/Contrast. Drag the Brightness down to -8 and the Contrast to -18.

20. With the Brightness/Contrast Layer highlighted Click CNTRL + E (Command E) to merge down.

Eye Dropper

21. Click on the Eye Dropper Tool (keyboard shortcut is I). Click on the non-shadowy part of the skirt of the woman in the middle.

Brush Tool

22. Click on the Paint Brush (keyboard shortcut is B)

23. Set the Mode to Normal. Opacity = 36%. Flow = 75%. Hardness = 25%

24. Zoom in onto the skirt of the woman in the middle. Gradually paint over the shadow with the Paint Brush, varying the sizes of the brush as you go. Use the keyboard shortcuts to change the size of the brush (right bracket = larger and left bracket = smaller).

Smudge

25. Use the smudge tool (keyboard shortcut is R) to make the skirt area look more natural and to smooth over some of the dust and scratches.

26. Use the sharpen tool to add contrast to detail areas like eyes and hair, as well as on geometric lines like the window frame.

27. Use the blur tool to smooth out the edges of the frame.

Snapshot

28. Click on the History Palette and click on the icon of the camera at the bottom to make a snapshot of the image.

Flatten Image

29. Click on the Layers Palette, Click on the triangle at the top right and select Flatten Image in the drop down menu.

Filters

30. Copy your background using the keyboard shortcut CNTRL + J (Command J)

31. Go to the Filter Menu > Filter Gallery . . .

32. Open the drop down menus by clicking the triangles

33. Choose a filter and adjust the sliders to modify the effect

34. Click OK to commit the changes.

THE END

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

house sale

working with selections

working with selections

(After right-clicking the image from the blog and saving it to your desktop)

1. Open Photoshop (From your Start Menu > Programs > Adobe CS2)

2. Open your image by going to the File menu and selecting Open.

3. Choose File and click Open

4. Make sure the Layers Palette is visible, if not go to Window > Layers

5. Copy your background using the keyboard shortcut CNTRL + J (Command J)


Threshold

Before we make any changes to the image let's look at the dark and light points with Threshold.

Click on the Background Copy and then click on the Cookie and select Threshold.

Adjust the slider from right to left to see the darkest and lightest points of the image.

Keep these in mind when you are adjusting levels and contrast.


Levels

6. Click on the Cookie and select Levels. Drag the Black & White sliders to the bottom edges of the histogram. Adjust the Gray slider as you choose.

7. Click CNTRL + E (Command + E) to Merge Down (Or choose Merge down from the Layers Palette Menu).

Magic Wand

8. Click on the Background Copy and Click on the Magic Wand (keyboard shortcut is W).

9. Set the Magic Wand Tolerance to 40. Select the red area of the grass in the bottom of the photo by clicking on it with the Magic Wand. You can add additional areas with shift+click. Feather the selection by 10 pixels (either Right Click > Feather or Refine Edge > Feather).

Hue / Saturation

10. Click on the Cookie and select Hue/Saturation. From the Edit drop down menu choose Reds and adjust the Hue and the saturation sliders to decrease the reds in that area. Click OK.

Invert

11. Click on the Background Copy and Click on the Marquee Tool.

12. Use the Marquee Tool to select the sale sign.

13. Click on the Cookie and select Invert.

Curves

14. Use the Magnetic Lasso Tool to select the house.

15. Click on the Background Copy then Click on the Cookie and select Curves. Use the 3-point system to increase the contrast. Click OK.

Copy and Paste Selection

20. Use the Magnetic Lasso Tool to select the Car. Feather the selection 5 pixels.

21. Copy (CNTRL + C or Command + C) and then Paste the selection (CNTRL + V or Command + V).

22. Use Free Transform (CNTRL + T or Command + T) to flip the direction of the car and then move it so that it is coming up the driveway.

23. Click on the Cookie and select Hue/Saturation. From the Edit drop down menu choose Reds and adjust the Hue slider to change the color of the car. Click OK.

24. Click CNTRL + E (Command + E) to Merge Down (Or choose Merge down from the Layers Palette Menu). You will see that the Hue adjustment now only affects the car.

Flatten Image, Sponge, Brightness/Contrast

25. Choose Flatten Image from the Layers Palette Menu

26. Copy your Background and click on the Background Copy.

27. Choose the Sponge and set it to Desaturate Mode at 65%. Click on the Red areas to desaturate them.

28. Click on the Cookie and Choose Brightness/Contrast to adjust the overall finished image.

29. Set the default colors (D) and flip them (X) to get black as your background color. Use the crop tool to extend the border at the top. Click and drag the crop marquee outside the edge of the top side of the picture. Click Enter.


The End.