Wednesday, May 30, 2012
Red Eye Removal
Red eye is caused by a reflection of the camera flash in the subject’s retina. You’ll see it more often when taking pictures in a darkened room because the subject’s iris is wide open. To avoid red eye, use the camera’s red eye reduction feature. Or, better yet, use a separate flash unit that you can mount on the camera farther away from the camera’s lens.
Remove red eye
The Red Eye tool removes red eye in flash photos of people or animals.- In
RGB Color mode, select the Red Eye tool
. (The Red Eye tool is in the same group
as the Spot Healing Brush tool
. Hold down a tool to display additional
tools in the group.) - Click in the red eye. If you are not satisfied with the result, undo the correction, set one or more of the following options in the options bar, and click the red eye again:
Pupil
Size
Increases or decreases the area affected by the Red
Eye tool.
Darken
Amount
Sets the darkness of the correction.
Fix Red Eye
in Photoshop
1.
Open
the image.
2.
Go to
Image > Duplicate and close the original.
3.
In
Photoshop 6 or earlier, go to View > New View. In Photoshop 7 go to Window
> Documents > New Window. This will open a duplicate window of the same
image.
4.
Zoom
one of the windows so that you can see the eyes as large as possible. Set the
other window view to 100%.
5.
Arrange
the two windows so you can see both the zoomed view and the 100% view at the
same time.
6.
Create
a new layer.
7.
Use
the eyedropper to pick up a color from the iris of the eye. It should be a fairly
gray tint with a hint of the eye color.
8.
Paint
over the red part of the eye on the new layer, being careful not to paint over
the eyelids.
9.
Go to
Filters > Blur > Gaussian and give it about a 1 pixel blur to soften the
edges.
10.
Set
the layer blend mode to Saturation. This will take the red out without removing
the highlights, but in many cases it leaves the eyes too gray and hollow
looking.
11.
If
that's the case, duplicate the saturation layer and change the blend mode to
Hue. That should put some color back in while still preserving the highlights.
12.
If the
color is too strong after adding a Hue layer, lower the opacity of the Hue
layer.
13.
When
you're happy with the results you can merge the extra layers down.
Tips:
1.
If you
need to darken the pupil area, use the burn tool. It should only take a couple
of taps with the burn tool to darken the pupils.
2.
Before
merging your layers, use the eraser tool to clean up any overspray from
painting outsideof the iris.
Fix Red Eye
in Photoshop Elements
1.
Open
the photo.
2.
Go to
View > New View to open a duplicate window.
3.
Zoom
in on one window so you can see the eyes and arrange the Windows you can see
both the zoomed in view and the actual size view.
4.
If the
layers palette is not visible, display it by going to Window > Show Layers.
5.
Click
the "create a new layer" button at the bottom of the layers palette.
6.
At the
top of the layers palette, use the blending mode menu to change this new
layer's blending mode to Color.
7.
Click
the foreground color swatch in the tool box and select the replacement eye
color.
8.
Select
the paintbrush tool.
9.
In the
options bar, choose a soft-edged brush, slightly smaller than the red eye area.
Click on opacity and set it low, to about 30%.
10.
Gradually
paint over the red area in the eyes, being careful not to paint over the white
of the eyes or the skin around the eyes. Zoom in closer if you need more
control.
Tips:
1.
Because
we use a low opacity brush, you will probably need to build up the color in
several passes. Every time you release and press the mouse button, you will
build up more color.
2.
If you
overdo it, you can use the opacity slider on the layer palette to reduce the
color.
3.
If you
accidentally paint outside of the iris area, it's easy to clean up because
you're on a separate layer. Just use the eraser tool to remove any stray color,
or trash the layer and try again.
4.
When
you're happy with the results you can merge the layer down or flatten the image
from the Layer menu
Wednesday, May 23, 2012
retouch with the clone stamp tool
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#retouch_with_the_clone_stamp_tool
http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2010/03/30/the-ultimate-guide-to-cloning-in-photoshop/
http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2010/03/30/the-ultimate-guide-to-cloning-in-photoshop/
Clone Stamp
1. The clone stamp tool is located
on your tools panel.
If you do not see the tools panel (a
vertical set of icons), go to window>tools to bring it up. Click the clone
tool to select it.
The keyboard shortcut is (S)
2. Once you have selected the clone
stamp tool, you can set your brush options (located at the top of the screen).
Brush size and shape, opacity, flow
and blending modes can all be selected. If you want to copy an exact area you
will leave the opacity, flow and blending mode at their default settings and
only choose a brush size and shape.
3. To select the area you want to
copy from, move your mouse to the area you want to duplicate and Alt-click
(Windows) or Option-click (Mac). The cursor will change to a target. Click the
exact spot you want to start copying from.
4. Click and drag over the area you
want to replace or correct and you will see the area you selected in step 3
start to "cover" your photo. Play around with different brush
settings and try replacing different areas of your photo until you get the hang
of it.
5. It is important to pay attention
to the location of the + sign as you are covering over the area you want to
replace. If you have selected “Aligned”
in the menu bar the + sign will move as you move your brush. You may want to
reset the target from time to time.
Wednesday, May 9, 2012
Healing Brush Tool
What does aligned mean?
http://www.photokaboom.com/photography/learn/photoshop_elements/aligned/1_aligned.htm
Retouch with the healing brush tool:
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#retouch_with_the_healing_brush_tool
Spot healing brush tool:
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#retouch_with_the_spot_healing_brush_tool
Patch tool:
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#patch_an_area
http://www.photokaboom.com/photography/learn/photoshop_elements/aligned/1_aligned.htm
Retouch with the healing brush tool:
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#retouch_with_the_healing_brush_tool
Spot healing brush tool:
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#retouch_with_the_spot_healing_brush_tool
Patch tool:
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#patch_an_area
Wednesday, May 2, 2012
Tuesday, May 1, 2012
Portraiture Class May/June 2012
University settlement
Portraiture Class
Wednesdays, 1-3pm
May 2, 9, 23, 30
June 6, 13, 20, 27
Teacher: Christina Freeman
christinahfreeman@gmail.com
www.universitysettlementphoto.blogspot.com
Materials for Class:
Please bring a camera to each class and a pin-drive/CD of your work to share
Questions:
What interests you in portraiture?
What experience do you have with portraiture?
What strengths and weaknesses do you have when taking pictures of people?
What things are you excited about? What things are you concerned about?
Things to consider:
Different types of portraiture:
Street Photography
Studio Portraits
On Location posed portraits
Group or Family
Animal- William Wegman
Symbolic /Still Life- takashi yasumura, sophie calle, Vik Muniz (Wasteland), Sarah
Palmer
Exotic/Tourist
Constructed (Collaged, Digital Composite)- kelli connel, Cindy Sherman, Alex Prager
Found Photography - Lorna Simpson
Projection
Writing - Wendy Ewald or Sharin Neshat
Celebrity - Andy Warhol
Empathetic - Nicholas Nixon
Event – Larry Fink
Other?
Styles: Fashion, Documentary, Artistic, (or a mix of sytles)
Lighting: Natural, Artificial, Mixed
Field Trip: We can take a field trip together to see an exhibition if enough people are
interested.
Photoshop Syllabus May/June 2012
University settlement
Photoshop Class
Wednesdays, 1-3pm
Photoshop Class
Wednesdays, 1-3pm
May 2, 9, 23, 30
June 6, 13, 20, 27
Teacher: Christina Freeman
christinahfreeman@gmail.com
www.universitysettlementphoto.blogspot.com
Materials for Class:
Please bring a pin drive or CD with your own images or projects to work on during class
Topics to cover:
June 6, 13, 20, 27
Teacher: Christina Freeman
christinahfreeman@gmail.com
www.universitysettlementphoto.blogspot.com
Materials for Class:
Please bring a pin drive or CD with your own images or projects to work on during class
Topics to cover:
Adjustments particular to portraits – white balance, temperature, exposure
Healing Brush
Opacity & Layers
Working with Raw files and adjusting multiple Raw files at one time
Masking
Preparing the image for print, Image Size, Border, Canvas
More topics as desired
Wednesday, March 7, 2012
Working with Raw Files
Opening Raw Files
(FYI - you will not be able to view or open Raw files outside of Photoshop)
1. Open Photoshop (From your Start Menu > Programs > Adobe CS5)
2. Open your image by going to the File menu and selecting Open.
3. Open the Folder “chapter02”, then open the Folder “02_01 hdrpro”.
Choose the file “freeway-80.CR2” and click Open
(Cannon RAW files have the extension .CR2,
each company has its own extension)
Adjusting Raw Files
4. The Raw File should open in the Camera Raw window, at the top it will tell you what type of camera took the photo.
5. Start with the Basic adjustments, going down the list from top to bottom.
6. You can try the Auto adjustments and if you don’t like it return to Default or make changes from there.
7. Adjust Curves.
8. Adjust Sharpening.
9. Color Balance using the sliders.
10. Adjust the lens vignette.
11. Click Open Image.
continue working on this image:
12. Make sure the Layers Palette is visible, if not go to Window > Layers
13. Copy your background using the keyboard shortcut CNTRL + J (Command J)
14. On Layer 1 (Background Copy) use the Quick Selection to select the sky.
15. Click on Refine Edge to adjust the selection: include the parts you want and leave out those you don’t.
16. Click on the Foreground Color to select a light blue for the sky. Click OK to confirm.
17. Choose the Brush Tool (B) and set the Opacity to 20%. Paint over the sky.
18. Use the Quick Selection to select the water.
19. Click on Refine Edge to adjust the selection: include the parts you want and leave out those you don’t.
20. Click on the Foreground Color to select a darker blue for the water. Click OK to confirm.
21. Choose the Brush Tool (B) and set the Opacity to 20%. Paint over the water.
22. Use the Eraser Tool (E) with a very soft edge to blend the line between the water and the sky.
23. Use the Quick Selection to select the land areas.
24. Click on Refine Edge to adjust the selection: include the parts you want and leave out those you don’t.
25. Click on the Cookie and choose Levels.
26. Bring the White Slider to the edge of the histogram. Bring the Gray Slider to 0.63. Leave the Black Slider alone. Click OK.
27. Use the Brush Tool (B) to add and subtract parts of the Levels adjustment. Painting White onto a Black area will add to the area that is included in the adjustment. Painting Black onto a white area will subtract from the area included in the adjustment. Click the X key on the keyboard to switch Black and White in the Foreground Color.
SAVE
28. File > Save As > Finished Freeway
Choose:
JPEG for Finished Images
PSD for Unfinished images.
Opening multiple RAW files at one time:
29. Open your images by going to the File menu and selecting Open.
30. Open the Folder “wedding”,
31. To select more than one file at the same time hold down the Shift key and Click.
32. Choose all of the files in the folder and click Open
Adjusting Raw Files
33. The Raw Files should open all together in the Camera Raw window.
34. You should see the first image in the center large, and the other images as thumbnails on the side.
35. Holding down the Shift key you can select more than one image at a time and make the Basic Adjustments, going down the list from top to bottom. You should see in the thumbnails that the changes are happening on all of the images.
36. You can try the Auto adjustments and if you don’t like it return to Default or make changes from there.
37. Adjust Curves.
38. Adjust Sharpening.
39. Color Balance using the sliders.
40. Adjust the lens vignette.
41. Click Open Images (If multiple images are selected at the same time when you click Open, all will Open).
continue working on this image:
42. Make sure the Layers Palette is visible, if not go to Window > Layers
43. Copy your background using the keyboard shortcut CNTRL + J (Command J)
44. On Layer 1 (Background Copy) use the Quick Selection to select the sky.
45. Click on Refine Edge to adjust the selection: include the parts you want and leave out those you don’t.
46. Click on the Foreground Color to select a light blue for the sky. Click OK to confirm.
47. Choose the Brush Tool (B) and set the Opacity to 20%. Paint over the sky.
48. Use the Quick Selection to select everything but the sky.
49. Click on Refine Edge to adjust the selection: include the parts you want and leave out those you don’t.
50. Click on the Cookie and choose Levels.
51. Adjust the Gray Slider to brighten up the image. Click OK.
52. Use the Brush Tool (B) to add and subtract parts of the Levels adjustment. Painting White onto a Black area will add to the area that is included in the adjustment. Painting Black onto a white area will subtract from the area included in the adjustment. Click the X key on the keyboard to switch Black and White in the Foreground Color.
SAVE
28. File > Save As > Finished Freeway
Choose:
JPEG for Finished Images
PSD for Unfinished images.
continue working on the other 3 images in the same manner.
The End.
Tuesday, March 6, 2012
Early Spring Classes (March 7 - April 11)
Early Spring Classes (March 7 - April 11)
Photoshop
1pm-3pm
Digital Photography
3pm-5pm
University Settlement, Classroom 4
Classes meet on the following Wednesdays, starting March 7
Schedule:
March 7
March 21
April 4
April 11
Tuesday, February 21, 2012
Lesson 3 ( for February 22)
Working with selections and Layer Adjustments
1. Open Photoshop (From
your Start Menu > Programs > Adobe CS5)
2. Open your image by
going to the File menu and selecting Open.
3. Choose the file
“Elephants.psd” and click Open
4. Make sure the Layers
Palette is visible, if not go to Window > Layers
5. Copy your background
using the keyboard shortcut CNTRL + J (Command J)
Magic Wand
6. Click on the Background Copy and then choose the Magic Wand
from the toolbar (keyboard
shortcut is W). (You can use
Quick Selection Tool if you prefer)
7. Set the Magic Wand Tolerance to 30. Select the biggest
elephant in the photo by clicking with the Wand. Add additional areas with
Shift+click. Subtract areas with Alt+click. Adjust the tolerance of the Wand
for fine areas.
Save Selection
8. To save the selection go to Select > Save Selection.
The window should look like this:
Document: elephants.psd
Channel: New
Name: (give the selection a name) “big elephant”
Click OK
Refine Edge
9. Refine the edge of the selection by clicking the Refine Edge
button while the selection you just made is visible. Set the following:
Radius 1.0px.
Contrast 10%
Smooth 30
Feather the selection by 1px
Contract 0%
Levels
10. Click on the Cookie and select Levels. Drag the White slider to
the bottom right edge of the histogram. Adjust the Gray slider to about .80.
Click OK.
Load Selection
11. Click on the Background Copy and load the selection of the
big elephant.
To Load
Selection click: Select > Load Selection > Channel > “big elephant”
Hue / Saturation
12. Click on the Cookie and select Hue/Saturation. Drag the Saturation slider to +100. Drag the Hue slider to -83. Click OK.
Poke the eye in the
layers palette to see the before and after preview. Leave the preview off for
now.
Load Selection
13. Click on the Background Copy and load the selection of the
big elephant again.
To Load
Selection click: Select > Load Selection > Channel > “big elephant”
Refine Edge
14. Refine the edge of the selection by clicking the Refine Edge
button while the selection you just made is visible. Set the following:
Radius 1.0px.
Contrast 10%
Smooth 0
Feather the selection by 30px
Expand +15%
Hue / Saturation
15. Click on the Cookie and select Hue/Saturation. Drag the Saturation slider to +60. Drag the Hue slider to +180. Click OK.
Poke the eye in the
layers palette to see the before and after preview.
Try combining hue and
saturation layers by previewing two Hue and Saturation layers at the same time.
Now turn off both of the previews.
Repeat steps 13 and 14
to make your own original hue/saturation adjustment.
Invert
16. Click on the Background Copy and load the selection of the
big elephant again. To Load Selection click: Select >
Load Selection > Channel > “big elephant”
Click on the Cookie
and select Invert.
Select & Save Selection
17. Use
the Quick Selection Tool to select the small elephant in the front of the
photo.
18. To save the selection go to Select > Save Selection.
The window should look like this:
Document: elephants.psd
Channel: New
Name: (give the selection a name) “small elephant”
Click OK
Curves
18. Click
on the Cookie and select Curves. Choose one of the preset curves adjustments
such as Darker or Increase Contrast. Click OK.
19. With
the Curves Adjustment Layer Highlighted, Click
CNTRL + E (Command + E) to Merge Down (Or choose Merge down from the Layers
Palette Menu).
Copy
and Paste Selection
20. With
the Background Copy Highlighted, Load the selection of the small elephant.
21. Copy
(CNTRL + C or Command + C) and then Paste the selection (CNTRL + V or Command +
V).
22. Use
the Move Tool (V) to move the small elephant.
23. Use Free Transform (Control + T or
Command + T) to flip and resize the elephant. Place the elephant somewhere in
the background.
Advanced Students: Use the warp mode to adjust the elephant. You
should also be able to make specific selections of the elephant’s ears and
trunk, and using free transform or warp, make him look like a new
elephant.
24. Use Smudge and Blur
to make the elephant look far away and blurry.
25. With the small
elephant layer selected Click CNTRL + E (Command + E) to Merge Down (Or choose
Merge down from the Layers Palette Menu).
26. Use the Clone Stamp tool to cover any
part of the elephant that should be hiding behind the bush. Clone Stamp (S),
hold down the Alt Key and Click to target the area you want. Let go of all
keys, then click with the mouse to cover up unwanted areas.
27. Choose a combination
of Adjustment layer you like. Drag
unwanted layers to the trash. Choose Flatten Image in the Layers Palette menu.
SAVE
File > Save As >
Finished Elephants
Choose:
JPEG for Finished Images
PSD for Unfinished
images.
The End.
Wednesday, February 8, 2012
Lesson 2
Making Selections, Content Aware Fill, Levels Adjustments . . .
Other Selection Tools
Content
aware fill
(After
copying the image folder from the flash drive to your desktop)
1. Open Photoshop
(From your Start Menu > Programs > Adobe CS5)
2. Open your image by
going to the File menu and selecting Open.
3. Choose File and
click Open
4. Make sure the
Layers Palette is visible, if not go to Window > Layers
5. Use the Quick
Selection tool to select the area you want to eliminate (click and drag over
the area. Hold down the ALT key + click the mouse to subtract areas, or Shift
key + click the mouse to add areas).
6. Click Delete or Backspace to bring up the Fill dialog
box.
7. Choose Content Aware Fill. Click OK.
8. Repeat steps 5-7 for the remaining areas.
Other Selection Tools
Magic
Wand
Click
on the Magic Wand (keyboard
shortcut is W).
Set the
Magic Wand Tolerance to 20. Click on the hot spots in the photo (the sky and
other light areas) to select them.
Add
additional areas with Shift + click.
Feather
the selection by 5 pixels (either Right Click > Feather or Refine Edge >
Feather). In Refine Edge you can also adjust Smooth and Contrast.
Loading
& Saving Selections
After
making a selection you can save it for future use.
Select
> Save Selection
Document:
the name of the current document you are using
Channel:
new (then give it a new name)
Click
OK
To
Deselect click Select > Deselect (CNTRL + D or Command + D)
To Load
Selection click Select > Load Selection
These
selections will be saved for future use if you save as PSD.
Levels
Click on the Cookie and select Levels.
Drag the Black slider
to the bottom left edge of the histogram.
Adjust the Gray
slider as you choose.
Click CNTRL + E
(Command + E) to Merge Down (Or choose Merge down from the Layers Palette
Menu).
Copy
and Paste Selection
Use the
Lasso Tool to select an object in the image. Feather the selection 10 pixels.
Copy
(CNTRL + C or Command + C) and then
Paste
the selection (CNTRL + V or Command + V).
Use the
Move Tool (V) to move the selection.
Flatten
Image
Choose Flatten Image
from the Layers Palette Menu
Save
Save
your image by going to the File menu > Save As (Choose JPEG for finished
images and PSD for unfinished images).
For
JPEG save the image at the highest size (Size 12).
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)













