Weegee at ICP
http://www.icp.org/museum/exhibitions/weegee-murder-my-business
Richard Avedon at Gagosian
http://www.gagosian.com/exhibitions/richard-avedon--may-04-2012
Reneke Dikestra at Guggenheim
http://www.guggenheim.org/new-york/exhibitions/upcoming/rineke-dijkstra-a-retrospective
Taryn Simon
http://www.moma.org/visit/calendar/exhibitions/1248
How to Make Good Pictures at MoMA
http://www.moma.org/visit/calendar/exhibitions/1280
Wednesday, June 27, 2012
Final Class: June 27
Photoshop Levels and Curves:
http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/levels.htm
http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/photoshop-curves.htm
http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/levels.htm
http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/photoshop-curves.htm
Wednesday, June 20, 2012
Wednesday, June 6, 2012
color cast
adjusting color cast in old photos
http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/digital-photo-restoration.htm
http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/digital-photo-restoration.htm
Wee Gee's Birthday at ICP
http://www.icp.org/events/2012/june/12/weegees-birthday-party
Weegee's Birthday Party
ICP, 1133 Avenue of the Americas
Tuesday, June 12, 10:00am
Celebrate Weegee's 113th birthday with us! ICP will host additional tours of Weegee: Murder Is My Business
throughout the afternoon at 1 pm, 2 pm, 3 pm, and 4 pm. Each tour runs
for approximately 30 minutes and is led by our knowledgeable gallery
guides. Receive free admission to the museum by dressing like
Weegee—wear a fedora or create your own "official" press badge
Tuesday, June 5, 2012
Color Adjustments
http://help.adobe.com/en_US/photoshop/cs/using/WSfd1234e1c4b69f30ea53e41001031ab64-764fa.html
Change the color balance using the Photo Filter command
The
Photo Filter adjustment mimics the technique of placing a colored
filter in front of the camera lens to adjust the color balance and
color temperature of the light transmitted through the lens and
exposing the film. Photo Filter also lets you choose a color preset
to apply a hue adjustment to an image. If you want to apply a custom
color adjustment, the Photo Filter adjustment lets you specify a color
using the Adobe Color Picker.
- Do one of the following:
- Click the Photo Filter icon
in the Adjustments panel.
- Choose Layer > New Adjustment Layer >
Photo Filter. Click OK in the New Layer dialog box.
Note: You can also choose Image > Adjustments > Photo Filter. But keep in mind that this method makes direct adjustments to the image layer and discards image information. - Click the Photo Filter icon
- In the Adjustments
panel, choose the filter color, either a custom filter or a preset.
For a custom filter, select the Color option, click the color square,
and use the Adobe Color Picker to specify a color for a custom color
filter. For a preset filter, select the Filter option and choose
one of the following presets from the Filter menu:
- Warming Filter (85 and LBA) and Cooling Filter (80 and LBB)
- Color conversion filters that tune the white balance in an image. If an image was photographed with a lower color temperature of light (yellowish), the Cooling Filter (80) makes the image colors bluer to compensate for the lower color temperature of the ambient light. Conversely, if the photo was taken with a higher color temperature of light (bluish), the Warming Filter (85) makes the image colors warmer to compensate for the higher color temperature of the ambient light.
- Warming Filter (81) and Cooling Filter (82)
- Use light-balancing filters for minor adjustments in the color quality of an image. The Warming Filter (81) makes the image warmer (more yellow), and the Cooling Filter (82) makes the image cooler (bluer).
- Individual Colors
- Apply a hue adjustment to the image depending on the
color preset you choose. Your choice of color depends on how you’re
using the Photo Filter adjustment. If your photo has a color cast,
you can choose a complementary color to neutralize the color cast.
You can also apply colors for special color effects or enhancements.
For example, the Underwater color simulates the greenish blue color
cast in underwater photos.Make sure that Preview is selected
to view the results of using a color filter. If you don’t want the
image darkened by adding the color filter, be sure that the Preserve
Luminosity option is selected.
- To adjust the amount of color applied to the image, use the Density slider or enter a percentage in the Density box. A higher density results in a stronger color adjustment.
Apply the Color Balance adjustment
The
Color Balance command changes the overall mixture of colors in an
image for generalized color correction.
- Make sure that the composite channel is selected in the Channels panel. This command is available only when you’re viewing the composite channel.
- Do one of the following:
- Click the Color Balance icon
in the Adjustments panel.
- Choose Layer > New Adjustment Layer >
Color Balance. Click OK in the New Layer dialog box.
Note: You can also choose Image > Adjustments > Color Balance. But keep in mind that this method makes direct adjustments to the image layer and discards image information. - Click the Color Balance icon
- In the Adjustments panel, select Shadows, Midtones, or Highlights to select the tonal range in which you want to focus the changes.
- (Optional) Select Preserve Luminosity to prevent changing the luminosity values in the image while changing the color. This option maintains the tonal balance in the image.
- Drag a slider toward a color that you want to increase
in the image; drag a slider away from a color that you want to decrease
in the image. The values above the color bars show the color changes
for the red, green, and blue channels. (For Lab images, the values
are for the A and B channels.) Values can range from ‑100 to +100.
Apply the Brightness/Contrast adjustment
The
Brightness/Contrast adjustment lets you make simple adjustments
to the tonal range of an image. Moving the brightness slider to
the right increases tonal values and expands image highlights, to
the left decreases values and expands shadows. The contrast slider
expands or shrinks the overall range of tonal values in the image.
In normal mode, Brightness/Contrast applies proportionate (nonlinear) adjustments to image layer, as with Levels and Curves adjustments. When Use Legacy is selected, Brightness/Contrast simply shifts all pixel values higher or lower when adjusting brightness. Since this can cause clipping or loss of image detail in highlight or shadow areas, using Brightness/Contrast in Legacy mode is not recommended for photographic images (but can be useful for editing masks or scientific imagery).
In normal mode, Brightness/Contrast applies proportionate (nonlinear) adjustments to image layer, as with Levels and Curves adjustments. When Use Legacy is selected, Brightness/Contrast simply shifts all pixel values higher or lower when adjusting brightness. Since this can cause clipping or loss of image detail in highlight or shadow areas, using Brightness/Contrast in Legacy mode is not recommended for photographic images (but can be useful for editing masks or scientific imagery).
Note: Use Legacy is automatically selected when
editing Brightness/Contrast adjustment layers created with previous
versions of Photoshop.
- Do one of the following:
- Click the Brightness/Contrast icon
in the Adjustments panel.
- Choose Layer > New Adjustment Layer >
Brightness/Contrast. Click OK in the New Layer dialog box.
Note: You can also choose Image > Adjustments > Brightness/Contrast. But keep in mind that this method makes direct adjustments to the image layer and discards image information. - Click the Brightness/Contrast icon
- In the Adjustments panel, drag the sliders to adjust
the brightness and contrast. Dragging to the left decreases the level, and dragging
to the right increases it. The number at the right of each slider
reflects the brightness or contrast value. Values can range from
‑150 to +150 for Brightness, ‑50 to +100 for Contrast.
Adjust black and white points with the Auto option
The Auto option for Levels and Curves
and the Auto Tone command automatically adjust the black point and
white point in an image. This clips a portion of the shadows and
highlights in each channel and maps the lightest and darkest pixels in
each color channel to pure white (level 255) and pure black (level
0). The intermediate pixel values are redistributed proportionately.
As a result, using the Auto option or Auto Tone increases the contrast
in an image because the pixel values are expanded. Because the Auto
option and Auto Tone adjust each color channel individually, it
may remove color or introduce color casts.
The Auto option and Auto Tone give good results in certain images with an average distribution of pixel values that need a simple increase in contrast.
By default, the Auto option and the Auto Tone command clip the white and black pixels by 0.1%—that is, it ignores the first 0.1% of either extreme when identifying the lightest and darkest pixels in the image. The default settings for the Auto option can be changed in the Auto Color Correction Options dialog box.
The Auto option and Auto Tone give good results in certain images with an average distribution of pixel values that need a simple increase in contrast.
By default, the Auto option and the Auto Tone command clip the white and black pixels by 0.1%—that is, it ignores the first 0.1% of either extreme when identifying the lightest and darkest pixels in the image. The default settings for the Auto option can be changed in the Auto Color Correction Options dialog box.
- Do one of the following:
- Click the Levels or Curves icon in the
Adjustments panel.
- Choose Layer > New Adjustment Layer
and choose either Levels or Curves. Click OK in the New
Layer dialog box.
Note: You can choose Image > Auto Tone to apply the adjustment directly to the image layer. Keep in mind that this method discards image information and is automatic. You cannot adjust any of the options in the following steps. - Click the Levels or Curves icon in the
Adjustments panel.
- In the Adjustments panel, Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) the Auto button.
- Under Algorithms in the Auto Color Correction Options dialog box, select Enhance Per Channel Contrast.
- Adjust the amount of shadow and highlight values that are clipped, and adjust the target color for the midtones.
- Click OK to apply the Auto option settings.
Apply the Auto Contrast adjustment
The Auto Contrast command adjusts
image contrast automatically. Because Auto Contrast does not adjust
channels individually, it does not introduce or remove color casts.
It clips the shadow and highlight values in an image and then maps the
remaining lightest and darkest pixels in the image to pure white
(level 255) and pure black (level 0). This makes the highlights
appear lighter and shadows appear darker.
By default, when identifying the lightest and darkest pixels in an image, Auto Contrast clips the white and black pixels by 0.5%—that is, it ignores the first 0.5% of either extreme. You can change this default using the Auto Color Correction Options found in the Levels and the Curves dialog boxes.
Auto Contrast can improve the appearance of many photographic or continuous-tone images. It does not improve flat‑color images.
By default, when identifying the lightest and darkest pixels in an image, Auto Contrast clips the white and black pixels by 0.5%—that is, it ignores the first 0.5% of either extreme. You can change this default using the Auto Color Correction Options found in the Levels and the Curves dialog boxes.
Auto Contrast can improve the appearance of many photographic or continuous-tone images. It does not improve flat‑color images.
- Do one of the following:
- Click the Levels or Curves icon in the
Adjustments panel.
- Choose Layer > New Adjustment Layer
and choose either Levels or Curves. Click OK in the New
Layer dialog box.
Note: You can also choose Image > Auto Contrast to apply the adjustment directly to the image layer. Keep in mind that this method discards image information and its application is automatic. You cannot adjust any of the options in the following steps. - Click the Levels or Curves icon in the
Adjustments panel.
- In the Adjustments panel, Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) the Auto button.
- Under Algorithms in the Auto Color Correction Options dialog box, select the Enhance Monochromatic Contrast option.
- Specify the shadows and highlights that are clipped, and adjust the target color for the midtones.
- Click OK to apply Auto Contrast.
Remove a color cast using Auto Color
Auto
Color adjusts the contrast and color of an image by searching the
image to identify shadows, midtones, and highlights. By default,
Auto Color neutralizes the midtones using a target color of RGB
128 gray and clips the shadows and highlight pixels by 0.5%. You
can change these defaults in the Auto Color Correction Options dialog
box.
- Do one of the following:
- Click the Levels or Curves icon in the
Adjustments panel.
- Choose Layer > New Adjustment Layer
and choose either Levels or Curves. Click OK in the New
Layer dialog box.
Note: You can also choose Image > Auto Color to apply the adjustment directly to the image layer. Keep in mind that this method discards image information and is automatic. You cannot adjust any of the options in the following steps. - Click the Levels or Curves icon in the
Adjustments panel.
- In the Adjustments panel, Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) the Auto button.
- Under Algorithms in the Auto Color Correction Options dialog box, select the Find Dark & Light colors option.
- Select the Snap Neutral Midtones option.
- Specify the shadows and highlights that are clipped, and adjust the target color for the midtones.
- Click OK to apply Auto Color.
Set Auto adjustment options
The
Auto Color Correction options control the automatic tone and color
corrections available in both Levels and Curves. It also controls
the settings for the Auto Tone, Auto Contrast, and Auto Color commands.
The Auto Color Correction options let you specify shadow and highlight
clipping percentages, and assign color values to shadows, midtones,
and highlights.
You can apply the settings during a single use of the Levels or Curves adjustment, or you can save the settings as default values when applying Auto Tone, Auto Contrast, Auto Color, and the Auto option for Levels and Curves.
You can apply the settings during a single use of the Levels or Curves adjustment, or you can save the settings as default values when applying Auto Tone, Auto Contrast, Auto Color, and the Auto option for Levels and Curves.
Auto Color Correction Options dialog box
- A.
- Auto Contrast option
- B.
- Auto Levels option
- C.
- Auto Color option
- D.
- Set target colors, black point, and white point
- Click the Levels or Curves icon in the Adjustments panel.
- Alt-click (Windows) or Option-click (Mac OS) the Auto button in the Adjustments panel.
- Specify the algorithm you want Photoshop to use to adjust
the overall tonal range of an image:
- Enhance Monochromatic Contrast
- Clips all channels identically. This preserves the overall color relationship while making highlights appear lighter and shadows appear darker. The Auto Contrast command uses this algorithm.
- Enhance Per Channel Contrast
- Maximizes the tonal range in each channel to produce a more dramatic correction. Because each channel is adjusted individually, Enhance Per Channel Contrast may remove or introduce color casts. The Auto Tone command uses this algorithm.
- Find Dark & Light Colors
- Finds the average lightest and darkest pixels in an image and uses them to maximize contrast while minimizing clipping. The Auto Color command uses this algorithm.
- Select Snap Neutral Midtones if you want Photoshop to find an average nearly-neutral color in an image and then adjust the gamma (midtone) values to make the color neutral. The Auto Color command uses this algorithm.
- To specify how much to clip black and white pixels, enter
percentages in the Clip text boxes. A value between 0.0% and 1%
is recommended. By default, Photoshop clips the black and white pixels
by 0.1%—that is, it ignores the first 0.1% of either extreme when
identifying the lightest and darkest pixels in the image. Because
of the better output quality of modern scanners and digital cameras,
these default clipping percentages might be too high.
- To assign (target) color values to the darkest, neutral, and lightest areas of an image, click a color swatch.
- Do one of the following:
- To use the settings in the current Levels
or Curves adjustment, click OK. If you then click the Auto
button, Photoshop reapplies the same settings to the image.
- To save the settings as the default, select Save
as Defaults, and then click OK. The next time you access
Levels or Curves in the Adjustments panel, you can apply the same
setting by clicking the Auto button. The Auto Tone, Auto Contrast,
and Auto Color commands also use the default clipping percentages.
Note: When you save the Auto Color Correction options as defaults for Auto Color, Auto Tone, and Auto Contrast, it does not matter what algorithm you select in step 2. The three auto-correction commands use only those values that you set for the target colors and clipping. The only exception is that the Auto Color command also uses the Snap Neutral Midtones option. - To use the settings in the current Levels
or Curves adjustment, click OK. If you then click the Auto
button, Photoshop reapplies the same settings to the image.
Apply the Variations command
The
Variations command lets you adjust the color balance, contrast,
and saturation of an image by showing you thumbnails of alternatives.
This command is most useful for average-key images that don’t require
precise color adjustments.
Note: The Variations command is unavailable
for indexed-color images, 16-bit images, and 64-bit versions of
Mac OS.
- Choose Image > Adjustments >
Variations. The two thumbnails at the top of the dialog box show the
original selection (Original) and the selection with its currently
selected adjustments (Current Pick). When you first open the dialog
box, these two images are the same. As you make adjustments, the
Current Pick image changes to reflect your choices.
- Select the Show Clipping option if you want to display a preview of areas in the image that are clipped—converted to pure white or pure black—by the adjustment. Clipping can result in undesirable color shifts, as distinct colors in the original image are mapped to the same color. Clipping does not occur when you adjust midtones.
- Select what to adjust in the image:
- Shadows, Midtones, or Highlights
- Adjusts the dark, middle, or light areas.
- Saturation
- Changes the degree of hue in the image. If you exceed the maximum saturation for a color, it may be clipped.
- Drag the Fine/Coarse slider to determine the amount of each adjustment. Moving the slider one tick mark doubles the adjustment amount.
- Adjust the color and brightness:
- To add a color to the image, click the
appropriate color thumbnail.
- To subtract a color, click the thumbnail for its
opposite color. For example, to subtract cyan, click the More Red
thumbnail. See Understanding color.
- To adjust brightness, click a thumbnail on the right
side of the dialog box.
You can also save the settings you make in the Variations dialog box for reuse on other images. For more information on saving and loading settings, see Save adjustment settings and Reapply adjustment settings.
- To add a color to the image, click the
appropriate color thumbnail.
Using the Equalize command
The
Equalize command redistributes the brightness values of the pixels
in an image so that they more evenly represent the entire range
of brightness levels. Equalize remaps pixel values in the composite
image so that the brightest value represents white, the darkest
value represents black, and intermediate values are evenly distributed
throughout the grayscale.
You can use the Equalize command when a scanned image appears darker than the original and you want to balance the values to produce a lighter image. Using Equalize together with the Histogram panel lets you see before-and-after brightness comparisons.
You can use the Equalize command when a scanned image appears darker than the original and you want to balance the values to produce a lighter image. Using Equalize together with the Histogram panel lets you see before-and-after brightness comparisons.
- (Optional) Select an area of the image to equalize.
- Choose Image > Adjustments > Equalize.
- If you selected an area of the image, select what to
equalize in the dialog box, and click OK:
- Equalize Selected Area Only
- Evenly distributes only the pixels in the selection.
- Equalize Entire Image Based On Selected Area
- Evenly distributes all image layers based on those in the selection.
More Help topics
Wednesday, May 30, 2012
Red Eye Removal
Red eye is caused by a reflection of the camera flash in the subject’s retina. You’ll see it more often when taking pictures in a darkened room because the subject’s iris is wide open. To avoid red eye, use the camera’s red eye reduction feature. Or, better yet, use a separate flash unit that you can mount on the camera farther away from the camera’s lens.
Remove red eye
The Red Eye tool removes red eye in flash photos of people or animals.- In
RGB Color mode, select the Red Eye tool
. (The Red Eye tool is in the same group
as the Spot Healing Brush tool
. Hold down a tool to display additional
tools in the group.) - Click in the red eye. If you are not satisfied with the result, undo the correction, set one or more of the following options in the options bar, and click the red eye again:
Pupil
Size
Increases or decreases the area affected by the Red
Eye tool.
Darken
Amount
Sets the darkness of the correction.
Fix Red Eye
in Photoshop
1.
Open
the image.
2.
Go to
Image > Duplicate and close the original.
3.
In
Photoshop 6 or earlier, go to View > New View. In Photoshop 7 go to Window
> Documents > New Window. This will open a duplicate window of the same
image.
4.
Zoom
one of the windows so that you can see the eyes as large as possible. Set the
other window view to 100%.
5.
Arrange
the two windows so you can see both the zoomed view and the 100% view at the
same time.
6.
Create
a new layer.
7.
Use
the eyedropper to pick up a color from the iris of the eye. It should be a fairly
gray tint with a hint of the eye color.
8.
Paint
over the red part of the eye on the new layer, being careful not to paint over
the eyelids.
9.
Go to
Filters > Blur > Gaussian and give it about a 1 pixel blur to soften the
edges.
10.
Set
the layer blend mode to Saturation. This will take the red out without removing
the highlights, but in many cases it leaves the eyes too gray and hollow
looking.
11.
If
that's the case, duplicate the saturation layer and change the blend mode to
Hue. That should put some color back in while still preserving the highlights.
12.
If the
color is too strong after adding a Hue layer, lower the opacity of the Hue
layer.
13.
When
you're happy with the results you can merge the extra layers down.
Tips:
1.
If you
need to darken the pupil area, use the burn tool. It should only take a couple
of taps with the burn tool to darken the pupils.
2.
Before
merging your layers, use the eraser tool to clean up any overspray from
painting outsideof the iris.
Fix Red Eye
in Photoshop Elements
1.
Open
the photo.
2.
Go to
View > New View to open a duplicate window.
3.
Zoom
in on one window so you can see the eyes and arrange the Windows you can see
both the zoomed in view and the actual size view.
4.
If the
layers palette is not visible, display it by going to Window > Show Layers.
5.
Click
the "create a new layer" button at the bottom of the layers palette.
6.
At the
top of the layers palette, use the blending mode menu to change this new
layer's blending mode to Color.
7.
Click
the foreground color swatch in the tool box and select the replacement eye
color.
8.
Select
the paintbrush tool.
9.
In the
options bar, choose a soft-edged brush, slightly smaller than the red eye area.
Click on opacity and set it low, to about 30%.
10.
Gradually
paint over the red area in the eyes, being careful not to paint over the white
of the eyes or the skin around the eyes. Zoom in closer if you need more
control.
Tips:
1.
Because
we use a low opacity brush, you will probably need to build up the color in
several passes. Every time you release and press the mouse button, you will
build up more color.
2.
If you
overdo it, you can use the opacity slider on the layer palette to reduce the
color.
3.
If you
accidentally paint outside of the iris area, it's easy to clean up because
you're on a separate layer. Just use the eraser tool to remove any stray color,
or trash the layer and try again.
4.
When
you're happy with the results you can merge the layer down or flatten the image
from the Layer menu
Wednesday, May 23, 2012
retouch with the clone stamp tool
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#retouch_with_the_clone_stamp_tool
http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2010/03/30/the-ultimate-guide-to-cloning-in-photoshop/
http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2010/03/30/the-ultimate-guide-to-cloning-in-photoshop/
Clone Stamp
1. The clone stamp tool is located
on your tools panel.
If you do not see the tools panel (a
vertical set of icons), go to window>tools to bring it up. Click the clone
tool to select it.
The keyboard shortcut is (S)
2. Once you have selected the clone
stamp tool, you can set your brush options (located at the top of the screen).
Brush size and shape, opacity, flow
and blending modes can all be selected. If you want to copy an exact area you
will leave the opacity, flow and blending mode at their default settings and
only choose a brush size and shape.
3. To select the area you want to
copy from, move your mouse to the area you want to duplicate and Alt-click
(Windows) or Option-click (Mac). The cursor will change to a target. Click the
exact spot you want to start copying from.
4. Click and drag over the area you
want to replace or correct and you will see the area you selected in step 3
start to "cover" your photo. Play around with different brush
settings and try replacing different areas of your photo until you get the hang
of it.
5. It is important to pay attention
to the location of the + sign as you are covering over the area you want to
replace. If you have selected “Aligned”
in the menu bar the + sign will move as you move your brush. You may want to
reset the target from time to time.
Wednesday, May 9, 2012
Healing Brush Tool
What does aligned mean?
http://www.photokaboom.com/photography/learn/photoshop_elements/aligned/1_aligned.htm
Retouch with the healing brush tool:
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#retouch_with_the_healing_brush_tool
Spot healing brush tool:
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#retouch_with_the_spot_healing_brush_tool
Patch tool:
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#patch_an_area
http://www.photokaboom.com/photography/learn/photoshop_elements/aligned/1_aligned.htm
Retouch with the healing brush tool:
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#retouch_with_the_healing_brush_tool
Spot healing brush tool:
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#retouch_with_the_spot_healing_brush_tool
Patch tool:
http://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/retouching-repairing-images.html#patch_an_area
Wednesday, May 2, 2012
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)



















