Thursday, October 18, 2012

Oct 24: Met Museum trip for Photoshop and Photography classes

http://www.metmuseum.org/


The Metropolitan Museum of Art
1000 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10028-0198
Phone: 212-535-7710


Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Warp and Puppet Warp : Advanced Photoshop Oct 17

Warp and Puppet Warp 

(practice image will be distributed in class)

1. Open Photoshop (From your Start Menu > Programs > Adobe CS5)
2. Open your image by going to the File menu and selecting Open.
3. Choose the File and click Open.
4. Make sure the Layers Palette is visible, if not go to Window > Layers

5. With the “Jump” Layer highlighted, use your selection tools (Magnetic Lasso or Quick Selection) to make a selection of one of the arms.
6. Save the selection by going to Select > Save Selection.
      Name it “Arm 1”, Click OK
7. Go to the Edit Menu > Puppet Warp (you should see a change to the selected area)
8. Set the target points by clicking the arm where you want it to bend.
9. After setting the target points, click and pull on the points to make the selected area move.
10. Click the Enter / Return key to commit the change.
11. Deselect the area with CNTRL + D.
12. Erase any unneeded picture information leftover from the arm.

13. With the “Jump” Layer highlighted, use your selection tools (Magnetic Lasso or Quick Selection) to make a selection of the other arm.
14. Save the selection by going to Select > Save Selection.
      Name it “Arm 2”, Click OK
15. Go to the Edit Menu > Puppet Warp (you should see a change to the selected area)
16. Set the target points by clicking the arm where you want it to bend.
17. After setting the target points, click and pull on the points to make the selected area move.
18. Click the Enter / Return key to commit the change
19. Deselect the area with CNTRL + D
20. Erase any unneeded picture information leftover from the arm.

21. With the “Jump” Layer highlighted, use your selection tools (Magnetic Lasso or Quick Selection) to make a selection of one of the legs.
22. Save the selection by going to Select > Save Selection.
      Name it “Leg 1”, Click OK
23. Go to the Edit Menu > Puppet Warp (you should see a change to the selected area)
24. Set the target points by clicking the leg where you want it to bend.
25. After setting the target points, click and pull on the points to make the selected area move.
26. Click the Enter / Return key to commit the change
27. Deselect the area with CNTRL + D
28. Erase any unneeded picture information leftover from the leg.


29. With the “Jump” Layer highlighted, use your selection tools (Magnetic Lasso or Quick Selection) to make a selection of the other leg.
30. Save the selection by going to Select > Save Selection.
      Name it “Leg 2”, Click OK
31. Go to the Edit Menu > Puppet Warp (you should see a change to the selected area)
32. Set the target points by clicking the leg where you want it to bend.
33. After setting the target points, click and pull on the points to make the selected area move.
34. Click the Enter / Return key to commit the change.
35. Deselect the area with CNTRL + D
36. Erase any unneeded picture information leftover from the leg.

37. Make a new empty layer by clicking on the Create new layer button next to the Trash Can.
Make sure this layer is below the “Jump” layer, drag it below if necessary
38. With the new empty layer highlighted, Load the Selection of Arm 1 by going to Select >  Load Selection and choosing Arm 1
39. Fill the selection by going to Edit > Fill > 50% Gray, Click OK
40. With the new empty layer highlighted, Load the Selection of Arm 2 by going to Select >  Load Selection and choosing Arm 2
41. Fill the selection by going to Edit > Fill > 50% Gray, Click OK
42. With same layer highlighted, Load the Selection of Leg 1 by going to Select >  Load Selection and choosing Leg 1
43. Fill the selection by going to Edit > Fill > 50% Gray, Click OK
44. With the new empty layer highlighted, Load the Selection of Leg 2 by going to Select >  Load Selection and choosing Leg 2
45. Fill the selection by going to Edit > Fill > 50% Gray, Click OK
46. Flatten the Layers

47. Make a new empty layer and drag it behind the background layer
48. Fill the new empty layer by going to Edit > Fill > 50% Gray, Click OK
49. Free Transform the Layer with the picture in it to make it smaller and then center it.
50. Click the Warp button and choose Flag in the Warp Drop Down Menu
51. Adjust the image to make the Warp more subtle.
52. Double Click on the Layer with the picture in it to bring up the Layer Styles Menu.
53. Click Drop Shadow. Click OK.

Save your work!

The End


Thursday, October 11, 2012

Assignment for Oct 17: recording / repetition

recording / repetition

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/repetition

noun
1.
the act of repeating; repeated  action, performance,production, or presentation.
2.
repeated  utterance; reiteration.
3.
something made by or resulting from repeating.
4.
a reproduction, copy, or replica.
5.
Civil Law . an action or demand for the recovery of apayment or delivery made by error or upon failure to fulfilla condition.


images for beginning photoshop oct 15


original image to download for the lesson


example of image after black & white adjustment layer


example of image after auto adjustments


Beginning Photoshop Lesson: Oct 15

Automatic Adjustments, Contrast, Levels, Curves, Exposure, Saturation, Black & White


(After right-clicking the image from the blog and saving it to your desktop)

1. Open Photoshop (From your Start Menu > Programs > Adobe CS5)
2. Open your image by going to the File menu and selecting Open.
3. Choose File and click Open
4. Make sure the Layers Palette is visible, if not go to Window > Layers
5. Copy your background using the keyboard shortcut CNTRL + J (Command J)

Automatic Adjustments
6. With the Background Copy Highlighted, Go to the Image Menu > Adjustments > Auto Levels
7. With the Background Copy Highlighted, Go to the Image Menu > Adjustments > Auto Contrast
8. With the Background Copy Highlighted, Go to the Image Menu > Adjustments > Auto Color

Adjustment Layers
9. Click on the Background Layer and copy your background again using the keyboard shortcut CNTRL + J (Command J)
10. Turn off visibility on the Top Background Layer by clicking on the image of the eye.
11. Click and drag the new Background Layer above the one with the automatic adjustments.
12. Click on the Cookie and choose Levels. Adjust the Midtone slider to 93. Click OK.
13. Click on the Cookie and choose curves. Click three points on the line and adjust to make a slight S-curve. Click OK.
14. Click on the Cookie and choose Exposure. Drag the exposure slider to -0.45. Click OK.
15. Click on the Cookie and choose Hue/Saturation. Drag the Saturation slider to -0.50. Click OK.
16. Click on the Cookie and choose Black & White. Drag the Red to 35% and the Yellow to 170%. Click OK.
17. Click and drag Layer 1 (the layer with Auto Adjustments) to the top.
18. Turn on and off the visibility of Layer 1.
19. Turn on and off the visibility of the Adjustment layers to see the difference.
20. Turn off the Black & White Layer & Hue Saturation Layer to compare the Auto Adjustment Layer to your adjustments.

The End

Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Advanced Photoshop Class Sept 26 & Oct 3: Smart Objects

Input vs. Output Levels

http://www.zuberphotographics.com/content/photoshop/levels-output.htm

Smart Objects

http://psd.tutsplus.com/tutorials/tools-tips/smart-objects/






Smart Objects Part I

(After right-clicking the images from the blog and saving to your desktop)

1. Open Photoshop (From your Start Menu > Programs > Adobe CS5)
2. Open your image by going to the File menu and selecting Open.
3. Choose the File and click Open (repeat for the second image).
4. Make sure the Layers Palette is visible, if not go to Window > Layers
5. Copy your background on both images using the keyboard
shortcut CNTRL + J (Command J)
6. On the Blue Benn Diner sign make a selection of just the sign.
7. Copy and Paste the Diner sign onto the Sky image
8. Make a Duplicate Layer of the layer with the Diner sign in it. (Right Click - Duplicate Layer)
9. Make the top Layer a Smart Object (Right Click - Convert to Smart Object)
10. Resize the Diner sign on the top Layer using Free Transform (CNTRL + T). Make it very very small!
11. Resize the Diner sign on the Layer beneath using Free Transform again to make it the same size as the one above.
12. Resize both of the layers with the Diner sign to see the difference between the Smart Object and the regular layer.
13. Make various sizes of the Diner sign and locate them on the horizon and on the wing of the plane.
14. Use Free Transform and Warp to make each sign look different.


Smart Objects (Part II)

(After right-clicking the images from the blog and saving to your desktop)

1. Open Photoshop (From your Start Menu > Programs > Adobe CS5)
2. Open your images by going to the File menu and selecting Open.
3. Choose the File and click Open (repeat for the second image).
4. Make sure the Layers Palette is visible, if not go to Window > Layers
5. Copy your background on the airplane image using the keyboard
shortcut CNTRL + J (Command J)
6. On the Blue Benn Diner sign make a selection of just the sign.
7. Copy and Paste the Diner sign onto the Sky image.
8. Make the top Layer with the Diner sign a Smart Object (Right Click - Convert to Smart Object)
9. With the Top Layer highlighted, select the MOVE Tool, then ALT + CLICK the image of the Diner Sign to make a Duplicate Layer. (You will see that the Duplicate Layer is also a Smart Object).
10.  Right Click on the Top Layer and choose Rasterize. (The Layer will no longer be a Smart Object)
11. Select the BRUSH Tool and paint with any color on the Top Layer.
12. Select the Smart Object Layer and try painting on that layer.  You will see that you are not able to directly edit that layer with destructive edits.
13. Select both of the layers with the Diner Signs in them by holding down the SHIFT Key and clicking on the layers.
14. Free Transform both of the Layers at the same time to make both of the Diner Signs very small using Free Transform (CNTRL + T).
15. Keep the two layers highlighted and Free Transform both of the Diner Signs again to make both of the signs large using Free Transform (CNTRL + T).
16. Observe the change in quality to the layer that was Rasterized.
17. Delete the Rasterized Layer by Clicking the Trash Can or Dragging the Layer to the Trash.
18. ALT + CLICK + Drag the Diner Sign to make another copy.
19. Free Transform the Duplicate Layer to make a small version of the Diner Sign on the horizon.
20. ALT + CLICK + Drag from that Diner Sign to make a copy.
21. Free Transform the newest Diner Sign to make it a little bit larger.
22. Move the newest Diner Sign towards the right side of the Horizon.
23. Free Transform the same layer, and ALT + CLICK + Drag the right control point to flip the Diner Sign.  
(You can also Right + Click the Free Transform object and choose one of the Rotate options :Flip Horizontal, Flip Vertical, Etc.)
24. If you double click on any of the Thumbnails for the Smart Object layers you will see the Diner Sign appear as it’s own file. This is the original image file that was saved when you made a Smart Object.  Duplicated Smart Objects share the same source so any of the Smart Object Layers will take you to the same source. If you make a change on the Smart Object source it will affect all of the Smart Objects that have the same source.
25. Arrange the Workspace so that you can see both images at the same time.
(ARRANGE DOCUMENTS ICON is at the Top of the Photoshop Window)
26. With the Smart Object Source on the Left and the Main image on the Right, use the Eye Dropper Tool (I) to pick out the tan color of the background of the sign.
27. With the tan color in the foreground of your paint colors, use the Brush Tool (B) to paint of the words “Blue Bell”.
28.  Use the Eye Dropper Tool (I) to select the black color from the word “Diner” and write your own name where “Blue Bell” was before.
29. Go to File -> Save (CNTRL + S) and Save over the previous file. If it asks if you want to Replace the previous File, choose “Replace”.
30.  You will see that all of the Smart Objects in the Main image will be changed.
31. Go back to the Smart Object file and using the Adjustments Panel choose Hue/Saturation and increase the Saturation on the Smart Object.
32. Go to the Masks Panel and Click on the Invert Button.
33. Choose the Brush Tool and paint white onto the Smart Object to reveal the Hue/Saturation Adjustments to particular areas.
34. If you make a mistake you can paint black to return the mask to the way it was.
35. Save the changes again and you will see the updates on all of the Smart Objects in the main image.

To make a Smart Object Duplicate Layer but not have the Smart Objects Share the Same Source you can right click on the Layer and Choose -> New Smart Object Via Copy

To SAVE your file with the Smart Object Layers save it as a PSD.


** Note: You can CNTRL + CLICK on the Image itself to Select the Layer that has that particular image in it.